Don’t Be Scared, It’s Just Wine.

A lot of people I talk to seem to be intimidated by wine.  As soon as I say I’m really into wine they say “oh I don’t know anything about wine. Don’t judge me but I usually pick wine based on the label” They almost seem ashamed by this, like I’m going to look down on them for not being super knowledgeable about wine.  First of all I choose wine based on labels all time. Yeah I head towards the types of wine I prefer and yeah I read what it says about the wine on the back, but when it comes down to it, until you taste a wine you’re not going to know if you like it or not, it doesn’t matter how much you know about wine, so why not choose a wine that is visually appealing? Second of all who am I to judge you because you don’t know a ton about wine? I choose beers based on whether their description says something about fruit or it comes with an orange slice. So yeah I don’t think I can judge.  To me it’s not what you know but how you feel.

The thing I love most about wine is that everyone gets something different when they taste it.  Wine isn’t about knowing what the best vintage is or being able to pick out all of the flavors you’re “supposed” to find in the wine. Wine is about enjoyment. It’s about exploring your own palate and discovering what flavors appeal to you.  I don’t think there is a right or wrong answer when it comes to wine. You can have a bottle of wine that cost five bucks that you love and you can have a bottle that cost hundreds of dollars and you think it is meh.  That doesn’t mean you have bad taste in wine it just means one wine was your style and the other wasn’t.

Now don’t get me wrong I love discussing wine and I’m more than happy to tell people what I think about a wine or explain the properties of the wine, but I also love hearing what other people think of a wine. I love when someone who thinks they know nothing about wine starts to explain what they like or dislike about a wine. When you say to them yeah that’s the tannin or that means it’s fruit forward it’s like all the sudden these terms they never understood become so clear and all sudden they don’t feel like they are an idiot when it comes to wine anymore.  Just because you don’t know all the terminology doesn’t mean you don’t know what you’re talking about.   So I say don’t be afraid to say how you feel and don’t worry about looking stupid just enjoy the wine!

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Glad to see you are back posting again. I hope your parents forwarded you the email I sent them about wine classes.
    Are you as jealous as we are that they are in France now tasting Burgandies?

  2. Dana, another great article!

    I totally agree about knowing wine taste and flavor vs using the “accepted” terms. Wine
    should be enjoyed more and not worry so much about using the proper terms.

  3. Great post, could not agree more. Wine, to me, is a conversation to happen, and I love to just talk and engage with people about wine. It is all about not shutting oneself (and others!!) up when talking about it. Terms don’t matter at all…

Leave a Reply

