North by Northwest

On Saturday Dana and I attended a Pacific Northwest Wine tasting at Bodega Ramos. While I have tasted wines from Columbia Valley this particular wine tasting included Oregon. I must give some Kudos to Bodega Ramos for setting up this wonderful tasting. It was informative and was small enough that tasters could ask questions and really understand how the wine has been made. If you get a chance I suggest you go and visit Bodega Ramos and ask questions they’ll be happy to help.

Claar Cellars Sauvignon Blanc-$15.99
This white wine was crisp and had some wonderful acidity. Hint of sweet fruit it almost had a honeydew taste with some kiwi.

McKinley Springs Viognier-$19.99
I normally like Viognier but remember that while the grapes maybe the same the enviorment can determine the taste along with how the wine making process was done. This wasn’t my favorite it had a nutty flavor that I didn’t appreciate but Dana enjoyed it. If you’re a full bodied red wine drinker this maybe a white wine you enjoy.

Two Mountain Hidden Horse Red-$17.99
This is a great light red wine. If you don’t like tannins this maybe the wine for you. I personally love a light bodied red wine which maybe why Pinot Noir is my favorite. I bought this wine and I must say that this wine is a blended wine. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Syrah, Lemberger and Malbec. This had dark fruits and some vanilla. Sound good right?

Gilbert Cellars Left Bank-$26.99
This is a blended wine Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot, Merlot, Malbec. The majority of this wine is a Cabernet Sauvignon. I personally found this to be a little too rich and robust for me and the pepper wasn’t something I personally enjoyed but Dana loved this wine. This is a full bodied wine so if you love a tannins this maybe the wine for you.

Maysara Pinot Noir Roseena Rose-$19.99
As Dana pointed out in the pervious blog post Rose’s a great summer wine for there light flavors. This wine was soft and fresh. This wine is perfect for shellfish or a nice talipia.

Andrew Rich Tabula Rasa-$19.99
I was a big fan of this red wine. I kept thinking it was like a Broadway Show. Soft to start and then had a nice big finish. It starts off fruity and ends in what I kept thinking tasted like chocolate, there wasn’t any in it but that’s the taste I was left with and I loved it. I enjoyed a few more tastings of this that night. Dana loved the finish because of the bold taste.

Owen Roe Ex-Humbris Syrah-$31.99
Full and Rich is the best way to describe this wine. Dana loved it and I of course wasn’t a big fan. The tannins were too much and the tast was too strong for me. The spices were too much but this is all a matter of taste and opinion. I can’t say it enough. If you love bolder wine this is good for you.

Corvidae The Keeper Cab Franc-$20.99
This red wine was also a full bodied wine but I have to admit I actually liked this wine. It had a creamy velvety taste. The spices had a good balance and I kept thinking a nice grilled strip steak would taste amazing with this wine. This wine was earthy which I normally enjoy.

Lemelson Vineyards Dry Riesling-$25.99
I love Riesling and so I knew I would like it. This didn’t have a very sweet taste but you could really smell the peachy fruit. The taste was slightly sweet but not overwhelming.

Lemelson Vineyards Tikka’s Run Pinot Gris-$24.99
I didn’t know if I’d like this wine and it turns out. I loved it. This is why you go to wine tastings to find out what you like and discover a new favorite. What I loved about this wine is that over ripe fruit. When I had this wine I wanted cheese.

Brick House Gamay-$28.99
This wine was made in limited quanties. I enjoyed this wine because it was bright and had a rich flavor. It was a intense without leaving an overwhelming taste. It had an earthy taste I enjoyed. Very old world wine.

Hamacher Cellars Pinot Noir-$27.99
This wine put a smile on my face. It was light with hints sweet berries, vanilla, and the finish was smooth. This is a wine that I think anyone would love and enjoy both in the winter and summer (and anywhere in between).

Cheers!

Posted on May 19, 2011, in Blended Wines, Cabernet Sauvignon, did you know, Food Pairing, Helpful tips, Malbec, Recommendations, Reviews, Riesling, Rose, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

